Magical Leek Weekend… Commencer!

this weekend I started my recasting, meaning I’m doing a detox of sorts to try to reset my dials. to give myself an opportunity to clear out the old and start again new, mind and body and soul. I wanted to do this little recalibration exercise a while back but implementing in DC was personally impossible… instead, I prioritized living it up (see previous post) by staying extremely busy on the weekends, going to my favorite restaurants and bars, and I just didn’t have motivation or time to sit still, relax and reflect.

well, now I have good reasons:

  • I have returned to Kisumu from the fields, physically and mentally spent. 13 hour days in the hot sun, thinking, feeling, doing, learning…  I have yet to process it all. so honestly, I wasn’t planning on doing much this weekend anyway.
  • I had to eat at restaurants for every meal and the only thing they serve at the beaches are fish meals that look like this. fish is prepared only one way: twice-fried.  and the side dish is a huge helping of ugali, which is a corn-based mush (fun b/c you eat with your hands) that has the consistency of playdough. while delicious, it also sits in your stomach exactly like playdough would if/when consumed.  my stomach could use a break. also, leeks are really cheap here.
  • this week I met women who struggle to save 50 cents in a week’s time, who need to take loans (with interest) from their friends and group members so that they can feed their children and send them to school every day. after what can only be described as a humbling experience, I thought it would be good to try a more purposeful and simpler way of living, if only to find power in how strong my mind and body can be.

alas, the perfect time to cleanse, reflect and renew.

I already did some research on the detox options out there. I think the one from French Women Don’t Get Fat will work best for me. the theory and the practice align with the way I already think, so it shouldn’t be an entirely new learning process. it also supports the way I actually want to live my life. for example, one of the manifestos is:

…choose your own indulgences and compensations…understand that little things count, both additions and subtractions, and that as an adult everyone is the keeper of her own equilibrium.

a holistic and intuitive approach to diet, health, wellness, and movement make sense to me. I’m not one for counting calories or reps. I really like the idea of grabbing at some skin or looking in the mirror and instinctively knowing that I’ve got to balance/control myself for the rest of the week.  (i.e. no Cadbury for me this week, and hmm an extra 50 squats to lift the booty)

ok so let’s get to the details. the first weekend is supposed to be the most difficult, because I can only eat/drink one thing. Leeks.

here’s the recipe. oh goodness. now I’m wondering if I’m crazy.

Magical Leek Soup
Serves one for the weekend

2 lbs. leeks
Water to cover in a large pot

1. Clean leeks and rinse well to get rid of sand and soil. Cut end of green parts leaving all the white parts plus a suggestion of green. (Reserve the extra greens for soup stock.)
2. Put leeks in large pot and cover with water. Bring to boil and simmer with no lid for 20-30 minutes. Pour off the liquid and reserve. Place the leeks in a bowl.

Instructions:
The juice is to be drunk (reheated or room temperature to taste) every 2-3 hours, a cup at a time.
For meals or whenever hungry, have some of the leeks themselves, ½ cup at a time. Drizzle with a few drops of extra-virgin olive oil and lemon juice. Season sparingly with salt and pepper. Add chopped parsley if you wish. This will be your nourishment for both days, until Sunday dinner, when you can have a small piece of meat or fish (4 – 6oz.–don’t lose that scale yet!), with two vegetables, steamed with a bit of butter or oil, and a piece of fruit.

sooo, here we go! I’ve already gotta batch of leek water in my glass carafe and I JUST finished my first leek meal. creamy, delish leeky goodness. I’m obvi planning to take it really easy. just a hunch that bunnytreks will get a lot of TLC this weekend, so check back! and if you don’t hear from me for a few days… well, let’s just not go there.

anyone else up for joining me for Leek Week(end)? Liz and I are doing it together, keeping tabs via email and skype. have any of you done a detox before? would love to hear about it!

One thought on “Magical Leek Weekend… Commencer!

Leave a Reply

